Champions League T20 Teams 2012

CLT20 is an initiative of the Board of Control for Cricket in India, Cricket Australia and Cricket South Africa. The tournament is a platform where the world’s best domestic T20 teams get the opportunity to pit their skills against each other. The tournament is broadcast around the world by ESPN Star Sports, who are also the commercial rights holders for the event.

Previous CLT20 Champions

2009 - NSW Blues

2010 - Chennai Super Kings

2011 - Mumbai Indians

Its again that time of the year when CL T20 kicks off. This time the mega tournament will take place in South Africa. More specifically at Johannesburg, Cape Town, Centurion and Durban. Mr Sundar Raman member of the CL T20 tweeted “Clt20 will feature 14 teams and will be played in SA between 9-28 Oct in Johannesburg, Cape Town, centurion and Durban” on July 2nd.

The temperature is expected to be in the 20s just like it was during Australia’s tour last year as the summer sets in. Jo’burg and Centurion will be quite comfortable. Cape Town will be a little cooler but then again Durban will be a little warmer.

The pitches at Jo’burg and Centurion are expected to be conducive while the Durban pitches will favour the fast bowlers.

After a meeting of the Governing Council on the 2nd July, Mr Sundar Raman tweeted “Qualifier leg will feature Sialkot stallions, Auckland Aces, T&T, 1 SL and 2 English teams.Top 2 will join 8 others, KKR, CSK, DD,MI from India, Titans and Lions from SA, Sydney sixes and Perth scorchers from Aus Mumbai Indians will be defending their @clt20 title in SA”

Champions League T20 Teams 2012

South Africa: Highveld Lions, Titans

India: Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Daredevils

Australia:  Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers

West Indies:  Tobago &Trinidad

New Zealand:  Auckland Aces

Sri Lanka: Champion of Sri Lanka’s Domestic T20 Tournament (to finish in August 2012)

England: Champion & runner-up of the domestic T20 (to finish in August 2012)

Pakistan: Sialkot Stallions

The Stallions, the Titans, and Australia’s 2 brand new Big Bash League 20-20 teams, the Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers, are making their 1st appearance in the tournament. All of the other teams have played a part in this tournament before but what they will miss is their huge crowd support they are used to getting back home. The sponsors will also lose out due to low exposure and increased operating costs. This time the franchisees will look forward to building and connecting with foreign fan bases.


  1. sumit panda says:

    clt20 rocks,korbo lodbo jeetbo,wishes for indian team.


Speak Your Mind